Trainers under Investigation & Suspended

Comments

• For the most part, owners in the horse racing industry, at least the ones I met, were very nice people. But naïve. Many of them are successful financial wise, you have to be to pay for the upkeep of a race horse. But for their business success, they believe the implausible stories trainers feed them. Of course, the honest trainers don't do that.

On the other thread I reported how Frank Monetleone used fake horses to impersonate the ones he supposedly bought for an owner. The horses never made it oversees from Europe. Now we see Asmussen keeping Nehro's condition in the dark.

Keeping Nehro in training was making Asmussen money. When I worked in the harness industry, owners paid for their horses' upkeep on a daily basis, meaning they paid per day. So if Nehro retired, on that day, Asmussen could no longer bill Zayat.

As far as Blasi is concerned, at least he texted Zayat and apologized. We haven't heard Asmussen doing that. I think Scott has a chance. He became the person he was because that's what working for Asmussen requires. People make mistakes. I hope he turns it around. I kind of identify with him, working long days and being frustrated by the fragile nature of the horses, "They all have some kind of problem!"

And there's a tremendous need to win. With other trainers pulling rabbits out of their hats, racing outfits must stay one step ahead of the testing lab and one step ahead of their peers. Trainers will bond on issues like raising purses, but for the most part, don't really get to close to one another. Mainly because they're trying to beat them. And also because they know they can't trust each other.

The backstretch is the ultimate soap opera. Rumors spread like wildfires. And these people have been working together for upwards of 30 years. The days and hours are long and filled with disappointments.

The only thing that keeps them going is winning.