Foaling and Newborn Questions & Comments

Comments

• EliRose said:

FWIW, sabino IS an overo pattern. Overo just means "not tobiano." I'd be willing to bet that she's one of those grays :)

Oh! I thought sabino and overo were different in genetic make up for the TB pinto coat color. I do know what a tobiano looks like but I read somewhere that the TB does not have tobiano genes/allele in the breed (but in Europe there is a breeding farm with a tobiano racehorse name Angrove Rumbaba. But he's not pure TB unfortunately.) But, what do I know-I'm not an expert in genetics, I just love to learn from the experienced members!

From page 30 in The Genetics discussion- "Dominant White and Extreme Sabino in Thoroughbred Race Horses" https://wizzley.com/dominant-white-and-extreme-sabino-in-thoroughbred-race-horses/

...Maybe that mare was a TB-cross pinto sport horse??...idk

Anyway, you're right @EliRose ...it just may be a very white grey that enjoyed time playing in the mud outside which also caused the lower half of its tail to get stained light brown! LOL!

Sorry to be off topic. Hope I can catch La Verdad foal tonight before or after my seminar! Have a great time everyone watching this exciting event!
    https://foalpatrol.com/horses/la-verdad/blog?nid=243
  • QueenZFan22QueenZFan22 Member
    edited March 2018

UPDATE #3 on La Verdad. There's now a woman in her stall (looks like it may be her owner?) The lady has been petting her and looking at her udder.

Yep the lady that was in her stall is in fact her owner.
  • That must be Sheila Rosenblum...she's an attractive individual who used to model before going into horse racing/breeding.
  • jen_bloomjen_bloom Member
    edited March 2018
    I hope they know what they're doing, and aren't getting her too excited to be able to foal if she's ready to. Like @AllZensonTrack, I can't help but think about Zenyatta's Z16 when I see so much activity in her stall.
  • jen_bloom said: